Dream

Image

I close my eyes

And in a slow rhythm inhale

The oxygen of sleep

To awaken six senses

Seeing the slate smoke of your eyes inches from my face

The taste and smell of skin brushed with sea air

The sound of the words you whisper against my cheek

The feel of your fingers in my hair and your hand against the small of my back

And the aching pull of my soul toward you

An ache that jolts me into reality

Tangled in my sheets

As I reach between the smooth cotton folds

To sooth the ache

And will eyes to close

And I will sleep again

And sense.

3 thoughts on “Dream

Leave a Reply

