Sensibility

This is my favorite movie.  Sense and Sensibility.  Sometimes – more than sometimes – I think I was born in the wrong era.  Everything about the time of Marianne – from the hair and clothing to the graces and language and secret passions – appeals to me.  Yes, I know Elinor is the main character….but I was never very good at being Elinor, though being raised in the south I definitely tried.  But I am destined to be Marianne, a little too effusive, a little too expressive, a little to unrestrained.

I have, however, already had my Willoughby, and that is an experience I would rather not repeat.  Willoughby was dashing and charming….but he was immature, spoiled, selfish, and far too……young, both literally and figuratively.  Marianne agrees with me.  See how happy she is here:

Leave a Reply

